A POLICY AMENDING THE ACCESS TO SCHOOL RECORDS POLICY OF THE TINTIC
SCHOOL DISTRICT.

WHEREAS, the Tintic School Board has previously adopted a
Public records policy for the Tintic School District; and

WHEREAS, The Utah State Legislature has adopted a Government
Records Access and Management Act, and

WHEREAS, The Tintic School Board now desires to revise the
school district’s policy for access to school records to conform to
the provisions of the Government Records Access and Management Act;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY ENACTED BY THE TINTIC SCHOOL
BOARD OF JUAB COUNTY:

Section 1 - The Access to School Records policy of the Tintic
School District as amended shall read as follows:

PUBLIC RECORDS

Adoption of Utah Code Annotated Sections. Utah Code Annotated
sections 63-2-701. This section provides standards for the
classification of the records of the political subdivision as
public,private, confidential, or protected in accordance with
Sections 63-2-301, 63-2-302, 63-2-303, and 62-2-304. (b) require
the classification of the records of the political subdivision in
accordance with those standards; and (c) provide guidelines for
establishment of fees in accordance with Section 63-2-203.
Sections 63-1-101 through 63-2-105; 63-2-201, 63-2-202; 63-2-205;
63-2-206; 63-2-601; 63-2-602; 63-2-903; 63-2-905; 63-2-907; and 63~
2-301 through 63-2-308, (1953) all of which are contained in that
certain document, a copy of which is on file in the Tintic School
District Office, being marked and designated as Utah Code
Annotated, are hereby adopted as part of the Access to School

Records Policy and are made part of this policy as if fully set
forth herein.

FEES

There is no charge for viewing or inspecting public records. A
school district employee shall make all requested copies for the
individual for a fee of .10 cents per copy. An hourly fee based
upon the employee’s pay scale shall also be charged if a school
district employee is required to research the school district’s
records for more than thirty minutes in order to locate documents
for a citizen or if it is necessary for a school district employee
to place the records back in proper order after a citizen has been
examining the records. A deposit fee of $25.00 shall be required
for requests for data or copying which will apparently take more
than three hours of an employee’s time. Requests for district

employee assistance shall be subject to the employee’s normal work
schedule.



Under no circumstances shall school district records be allowed to
be taken from the district’s schools or offices where such records
are stored. The school district employee who is locating documents
for a citizen shall make every effort to insure that no documents
are lost, destroyed or taken from the school district’s offices by
the citizen inspecting the public records. 1In this regard, all
brief cases, purses, bags, sacks or other personal items belonging
to the citizen shall be checked with a district employee and left
outside the room where the documents are being examined or copied.

A $5.00 fee will be charged per each page of a document which has
been requested to be certified.

a. Records will not be released until payment has been
received.

PROCEDURES

Each requestor shall submit a written request specifically
identifying those documents requested. The request shall
specifically state whether the documents sought are: (1) to be
copied; or (2) identified to determine whether they are subject to
disclosure; or (3) to be allowed to inspect a specific record. In
the event that a document is specifically identified and designated
for copying, the requestor shall submit sufficient funds with the
written request to pay for all copies requested to be copied.

RESPONSE TIMES

The district shall respond to the request to copy within fifteen
(15) days. The District hereby finds that it does not have
adequate resources to respond to document requests and appeals in
the time period set forth in 63-2-204 of GRAMA and therefore it
opts these alternative time periods. The District shall respond to
an appropriate request by:

a. Approving the request and providing the records;

b. Denying the request;

c. Notifying the requestor that it does not maintain the
records; or

d. Notifying the requestor that extraordinary circumstances
exist which make it impractical to approve or deny the request and
specifying the earliest time when the records will be available.

APPEALS

Any person aggrieved by the school district’s access determination
under this policy, including a person not a party to the school
district’s proceedings, may appeal the determination within 30 days
to the Superintendent by filing a notice of appeal.

The notice of appeal shall contain the following information:
1: the petitioner’s name, mailing address, and daytime

telephone number; and
2: the relief sought.



The petitioner may file a short statement of facts, reasons, and
legal authority in support of the appeal.

The Superintendent shall make a determination on the appeal with
the following period of time:

y
1: within five business days after the Superintendentfs
receipt of the notice of appeal; or

2: If the Superintendent fails to make a determination within
the time specified in (1) above, the failure shall be
considered the equivalent of an order denying the appeal.

The Superintendent may, upon consideration and weighing of the
various interests and public policies pertinent to the
classification and disclosure or nondisclosure, order the
disclosure of information properly classified as private under
Section 63-2-302 or protected under Section 63-2-304 if the
interests favoring access outweigh the interests favoring
restriction of access.

The school district shall send written notice of the determination
of the Superintendent to all participants. If the Superintendent
affirms the denial in whole or in part, the denial shall include a
statement that the requestor has the right to appeal the denial to
either the Tintic School Board or district court and the time
limits for filing an appeal.

A person aggrieved by the school district’s classification or
designation determination under this chapter, but who is not
requesting access to the records, may appeal that determination
using the procedures provided in this section. If a nonrequester
is the only appellant, the procedures provided in this section
shall apply, except that the determination on the appeal shall be
made within 30 days after receiving notice of appeal.

The duties of the Superintendent under this policy may be
delegated.

Section 2: This policy shall take effect immediately upon its
adoption.



