District Court (First District : Box Elder County) Criminal case files
These records are housed in the Utah State Archives' permanent storage room.
Scope and Content
Case files are made up of the various documents filed with the First District Court in Box Elder County pertaining to each specific case. The records usually contain information such as the case number, and the names of the defendants, counsel, jurors, and witnesses. The case file may include complaints, indictments, subpoenas, verdicts, warrants of arrest, execution or confinement, warrant returns, affidavits, orders, judgments, appeal notices. Files rarely include transcripts of testimony.
First, second, and third degree felony cases are the predominant case file type within this series (a major crime for which the maximum imprisonment is more than one year in a state correctional institution). This would include first degree offenses such as murder, rape, aggravated kidnapping, aggravated burglary and robbery, arson, and possession with intent to distribute drugs. Second degree offenses include: manslaughter, robbery, residential burglary, kidnapping, perjury, forgery, theft of property valued over $1,000.00, forcible sexual abuse, and intentional child abuse. Third degree felonies include: burglary of non-dwellings, theft, aggravated assault, forgery, unlawful sexual intercourse, joyriding, possession with intent to distribute marijuana or cocaine, and false or forged prescriptions.
This series also contains misdemeanor cases which are punishable by a county jail term of up to one year and/or a fine. Misdemeanors include: negligent homicide, driving under the influence, theft, assault on a police officer, criminal mischief, resisting arrest, reckless driving, possession of marijuana, shoplifting, trespassing, and possession of a concealed weapon.
Juvenile cases tried prior to 1907 can also be found in this series. In 1907, a separate statewide juvenile court was established allowing juvenile court jurisdiction in all matters involving children 18 years of age and younger, including parents and guardians of juvenile delinquents.
Missing cases should not be found in appellate court records since the Supreme Court is required by law [Rule 76 (d)] to remit their decision to the District Court "together with such papers transmitted to the Supreme Court on appeal." Furthermore, Rule 75 (n) states that after the appeal has been disposed of, any original papers should be returned to the custody of the district court. Cases which are appealed to the District Court from lower courts will be found in this series.
Numerical by case number.
Filming of this series took place in the late 1970's and was done by the First District Court in Box Elder County. These microfilm copies were provided to the Utah State Archives by the court. Original paper files were presumably destroyed after filming. Archival processing of the records did not take place prior to filming and that should be noted if case files appear out of order.
It appears that the records in this series were filmed at two separate points in time. The first filming comprises the case files found on this container list. The second filming covers cases 188 to 1230 and has not been included on the attached container list. Patrons should be aware of the existence of this second film set in the event the case file they are looking for is missing from the original arrangement.
Minute books from the District Court (First District : Box Elder County), Series 3688, contains brief minute book entries for court proceedings on any given day.
Criminal registers of actions from the District Court (First District : Box Elder County), Series 26048, contains a record of each action taken in the cases that comprise this series.
This series is available on microfilm.
This series is classified as Public.
Cite the Utah State Archives and Records Service, the creating agency name, the series title, and the series number.
This series was processed by Jim Kichas in April 2010.
- Criminal law--Utah--Box Elder County.