Utah Department of Administrative Services

Division of Archives & Records Service

Incorporation Records

County Clerks and the Secretary of State were responsible for recording incorporation records in the state until 1962, when the law changed and the state became solely responsible for recording incorporation records. Current incorporation records are recorded by the Division of Corporations which is in the Department of Commerce. Researchers seeking incorporation records for businesses active after 1974 will need to contact the Division of Corporations through their homepage: http://www.commerce.utah.gov/cor/index.html or at 160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84111 Tel. (801) 530-4849.

The incorporation records are kept in record books and also in case files. The incorporation records include articles of incorporation, notices to pay licensing fees and taxes, oaths of office for corporate officers, annual reports, correspondence, or other miscellaneous documents. Case files are created during the length of a corporation's existence.

Articles of incorporation constitute a contract between the state and corporation, between corporation and stockholders, and between the stockholders and state. The articles of incorporation record the following: names of the incorporators and their places of residence, the length of the corporation's existence, the pursuit of business agreed upon, amount of stock each shareholder receives, description of stock classes, number and kind of corporate officers, and the number of directors necessary to transact corporate business.

The Division of Corporations and Utah State Archives has indexes and card files that facilitate access to the incorporations recorded by the state. The Archives also has indexes for many of the County Clerks' incorporation records. You may write and ask reference archivists to copy, at cost, incorporation records or you are welcome to visit the Utah State Archives Research Center to search for yourself.

 

Beaver County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1874-1963 | online index Series 83770
Beaver County Probate Court  
Record books, 1870-1885 Series 14893
Box Elder County Clerk  
Incorporation Records Index, 1900-1961 Series 14945
Incorporation Case Files of LDS Church Wards, 1886-1901 Series 14947
Incorporation Case Files, 1873-1961 | online index Series 17890
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1870-1961 Series 84091
Cache County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1873-1961 Series 3692
Incorporation Index, 1873-1961 Series 6192
Carbon County Clerk  
Articles of Incorporation Records Books, 1881-1961 Series 15310
Daggett County Clerk- No archives holdings  
Davis County Clerk  
Incorporation Oaths of Office, 1880-1983 Series 11622
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1882-1961 Series 11801
Articles of Incorporation Alphabetical Index, 1882-1961 Series 17568
Articles of Incorporation Numerical Index, 1882-1961 Series 17569
Incorporation Oaths of Office Index, 1935-1963 Series 17898
Duchesne County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1906-1961 Series 3745
Incorporation Case Files Numerical Index, 1906-1961 Series 15110
Emery County Clerk  
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1889-1961 Series 17823
Articles of Incorporation Alphabetical Index, 1886-1961 Series 17840
Incorporation Case Files, 1886-1961 Series 17852
Articles of Incorporation Record Books of LDS Church Wards, 1887 Series 84033
Garfield County Clerk- No archives holdings  
Grand County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1903-1961 Series 14932
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1899-1953 Series 17858
Iron County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1884-1895 Series 17574
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1870-1948 Series 83748
Juab County Clerk  
Articles of Incorporation Alphabetical Index, 1917-1961 Series 6180 
Incorporation Assumed Name Index, 1917-1961 Series 17778
Incorporation Document Index, 1917-1961 Series 17779
Kane County Clerk- No archives holdings  
Millard County Clerk  
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1871-1961 Series 83441
Morgan County Clerk- No archives holdings  
Piute County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1891-1961 | online index Series 3761
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1891-1961 Series 17421
Rich County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1870-1961 | online index Series 3764
Salt Lake County Clerk  
Incorporation Alphabetical Indexes, 1869-1961 Series 3866
Incorporation Case Files, 1869-1961 Series 3888
San Juan County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1886-1961 | online index Series 17504
Sanpete County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1870-1963 | online index Series 4952
Articles of Incorporation Alphabetical Index, 1871-1963 Series 15846
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1871-1963 Series 17579
Sevier County Clerk
Incorporation Index, 1873-1961 Series 17543
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1873-1948 Series 17544
Incorporation Case Files, 1873-1961 Series 84195
Summit County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1882-1961 | online index Series 17892
Tooele County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1901-1961 Series 14878
Articles of Incorporation Record Books of LDS Church Wards, 1882-1883 Series 15691
Uintah County Clerk  
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1907-1960 Series 5012
Incorporation Case Files, 1891-1961 | online index Series 5015
Utah County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1872-1961 | online index Series 5026
Wasatch County Clerk- No archives holdings  
Washington County Clerk  
Articles of Incorporation Record Book, 1896-1908 Series 3177
Articles of Incorporation Record Book of Ecclesiastical Incorporations, 1882-1887 Series 23602
Incorporation Case Files, 1891-1961 | online index Series 17893
Washington County Probate Court  
United Order Incorporation Records, 1874-1878 Series 3190
Wayne County Clerk  
Incorporation Case Files, 1953-1961 Series 17861
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1892-1945 Series 84076
Weber County Clerk  
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1871-1961 Series 5079
Articles of Incorporation Record Books for LDS Church Wards, 1882-1884 Series 5094
Incorporation Index, 1871-1961 Series 5098
Incorporation Case Files of LDS Church Wards, 1882-1903 Series 5288
Incorporation Case Files, 1871-1961 Series 5297
First District Court  
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1888-1890 Series 17798
Third District Court  
Incorportion Case Files, 1887-1896 | online index Series 3845
Articles of Incorporation Record Books, 1887-1896 Series 19481
Division of Corporations and Commercial Code  
Incorporation Case Files, 1871-ongoing Series 7184
Inactive Corporation Cards, ca. 1871-1988 Series 16658
Active Corporation Cards, ca. 1871-1988 Series 16659
Incorporation Case Files Index, 1987 Series 21944
Incorporation Case Files Index, 1910 Series 21989
Incorporation Document Cards (alphabetical), ca. 1871-1986 Series 22075
Incorporation Case Files Index, 1981 Series 23346
Secretary of State  
Incorporation Index Registers, 1880-1919 Series 378
Private Companies Incorporation Record Books, 1884-1919 Series 384
Religious Organizations Incorporation Records Book, 1901-1918 Series 385
Foreign Companies Incorporation Record Books, 1905-1918 Series 386
Articles of Incorporation Amendment Record Books, 1896-1968 Series 387
Corporation License Registers, 1907-1920 Series 406
Incorporation Document Cards (alphabetical), ca. 1871-1974 Series 6189
Building and Loan Association Incorporation Certificate Record Book, 1890-1892 Series 6218
Incorporation Document Cards (numerical), 1871-1932 Series 21946
Incorporation License Tax Notices, 1910-1913 Series 312
Incorporation Correspondence, 1909-1913 Series 325
Incorporation Annual Reports, 1962-1966 Series 376
Incorporation Correspondence, 1960-1971 Series 380
Incorporation Annual Reports, 1928-1931 Series 22044